What I Live, What I Love, What I Learn

I am attending a TeachMeet Sydney event this afternoon at Oakhill College. Those of you on Twitter, you can follow or catch up later on the backchannel via the #tmsydney tag. I am really looking forward to catching up with colleagues, meeting some people in real life for the first time – having only previously met them on Twitter and seeing some fantastic Pecha Kucha presentations and just enjoying sharing of new ideas. Here is my mini presentation on Blogging in my Classroom

My presentation will take the form of a mini Pecha Kucha – six slides, twenty seconds each – on three ways that I am using blogging in my classroom. All three examples use Posterous as this platform is so user-friendly and versatile.

1. Class Blog with Edmodo RSS Feed

This main reason I set up this blog was to allow me to schedule posts into Edmodo. Some of my students go straight to the blog as well when they forget their Edmodo login details. I love the fact that Scribd automatically integrates any documents into a post and embedding videos and other media is also so easy. I am the only one that posts to this blog but comments and feedback functions are open to students.

2. PASStheCupcakes  Class BlogBlogger's equipement

This is a blog which I set up for one of my classes as our next project following our Pecha Kucha experience. Many of the girls are fans of Tumblr and wanted to have something similar for the class. They selected the blog name and are all able to post to the blog via email and I moderate posts and comments. An RSS feed links this blog to our Edmodo site and they are also encourage to post videos and images relevant to our topics. Although Edmodo is primary class space, we have also been experimenting with embedding various types of media into the blog. The class have one specific  blogging task per fortnight.

3. Blogging for IRP Project Diary

As part of the Independent Research Project for Community and Family Studies, students have to prepare a Project Diary where they document their research, data sources and reflections. In promoting a blog as a possible method of doing this, we discussed the opportunities that an online space would offer including posting video and images easily from mobile devices. It is alse very difficult to lose a blog, as opposed to a notebook diary. One third of my class have decided to blog their IRP journey. Each blog is private but other  member of the class can read and comment on their posts allowing for fantastic peer review and collaboration opportunities.
 

Blogging assists in the development of a deep understanding of areas such as digital citizenship, plagiarism and content curation and allows for creative expression of ideas, thoughts and feelings with minimal resources.  Hopefully, some of my students will branch out into their own blogs in the not too distant future for their own purposes but at least they have dipped their toes into the blogging ocean.

Bloggin Equipment image: http://www.flickr.com/photos/44124485144@N01/178734272/

Comments on: "3 Blogs, 2 Minutes, 1 TeachMeet #tmsydney" (2)

  1. Hi Clarinda,

    Great to see the awesome stuff that you are doing at Cumberland. Being new to CAFS, I really like the idea of using a Blog as the IRP diary. I was discussing the idea with my class the other day and have a few that are keen and i am going to run a little workshop with them to help them set it up. Being able to add video, images and voice to the diary will give my class (of which many are from backgrounds other the English) so much more opportunity to express themselves.

    Thanks for the idea, I will share how we go with it.

    Daz

  2. Hi Darryn,

    I have to work quite closely with mine as well to get their blogs set up for their purposes. Many of them are really appreciating the versatility of mediums though. I think it will also really be useful for those who struggle to write their reflections and I agree that it widens their expression opportunities.

    Maybe some peer review and sharing of CAFS blogs later down the track?

    Thanks for your feedback and comment.

    Clarinda

Leave a Reply

