What I Live, What I Love, What I Learn

October Halo-Halo

We are finally now getting into halo-halo weather! Halo-halo means “mix-mix”. So here is my monthly mix of my favourite sites, tools and ideas which are definitely quite random this month – a trend that I’m sure will continue as we head towards the end of the year.

Image URL: http://365greatpinoystuff.files.wordpress.com/2009/12/halo-halo.jpg

Pearl Trees

A fantastic content curation tool. Pearls are web links and Pearl Trees act like folders for your pearls. I particularly like the “team” function which enables you to collaborate with others to create Pearl Trees.

They can also be embedded and shared and you can search through the Trees that others have created and “pick” pearls to add to you trees.

I have recently introduced these to my students and they love them!

They can also be embedded into Edmodo and Posterous beautifully (though ironically not into WordPress) and shared and you can search through Pearl Trees that others have created and “pick” pearls to add to your Trees.

I have recently introduced these to my students and they love them! Here is an example of one that three of my students “teamed up” to create together.

Slideshare

I know it’s been around for a while but it has become even easier to use. Changes have been made to navigation options and embedding presentations, particularly in WordPress, is painless – even for a HTML noob like me. Love the changes and my use of it has been reinvigorated!

Ease of embed options – http://www.slideshare.net/

iPhone Funky Fun

It’s flippant but funny and awesome all at the same time. Would love to get my students to create something equally as wacky with our iPod Touch devices.

What has been your favourite site, tool, idea or awesome discovery this month? 

Enjoy the halo-halo!

Leave a Reply

